LANDMARKS PLAQUES

FCLF awards plaques to promote the preservation and restoration of our county’s heritage.

FCLF plaques are awarded to property owners of buildings and structures that are over 100 years of age, possess historical and/or architectural significance, and retain physical integrity. They recognize and encourage good stewardship. During the past four decades, FCLF is proud to have awarded more than 400 plaques.

 

The plaques are black cast iron ovals representing the FCLF logo. They measure 10 inches wide and 5 1/2 inches tall, and weigh 3 pounds. A brass plate, etched with the property’s unique registry number, is affixed to the center.

 

Schifferstadt Architectural Museum, designated a National Historic Landmark by the United States Secretary of the Interior in 2017, was the first building to be recognized by the program and is registered as plaque #001. A registry of plaqued properties is maintained by FCLF, and records are made available at FCLF and Heritage Frederick.

Questions? Email or contact the FCLF Office at 301-668-6088.

Plaques In The News

Plaques discussed on WDVM-TV

August 20, 2019

Watch this WDVM-TV news clip to hear Joan Deacon, Frederick County Landmarks Board Member, explain the plaque program. Two recent recipients of plaques, the Baldis of Frederick and the Rocky Springs Chapel and School House, are featured.

A Labor of Love - Owning a historic home in Frederick offers its fair share of triumphs and tribulations

June 07, 2018

In this profile, featured in Spires Magazine, plaque recipients Mark and Teresa Stull speak candidly about their experience from purchasing their historic row home to working with the Historic Preservation Commission during its restoration. Mark is a member of the FCLF board of directors.

Rocky Springs School House, chapel receive Landmarks Foundation plaques

January 28, 2018

Frederick County Landmarks Foundation recently awarded plaques to both the Rocky Springs School House and Rocky Springs Chapel. The field stone one-room schoolhouse was built in the late 1830s. It served as church on Sunday and school on the weekdays. The Chapel was built in 1882.

Historic downtown row homes earn first plaques in county's revived landmarks program

November 25, 2017

A Greek revival row home with the largest residential front doors in Frederick and a Colonial one with an historic United Fire emblem still on display will soon join more than 400 county structures displaying Frederick County Landmarks plaques.

Please reload

Frederick County Landmarks Foundation

1110 Rosemont Avenue, Frederick, Maryland 21701

Office: 301-668-6088    Schifferstadt Museum: 301-663-3885

   info@fredericklandmarks.org

 

© 2018 Frederick County Landmarks Foundation.  All rights reserved.

  • Facebook social icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon